I still get Hungry…

bodhisattva Cundi7

I still get Hungry…
I enjoy being Hungry…
because
I also enjoy being Satiated…
…to consume….
…to be consumed….
I love Anticipation.
But most of all,
I want
for you to want me.
The question remains
“How much Drama
will this Dharma cost?”
“How much must we pay to play?”
I understand
that suffering follows
all desires.
But as long as
I know the price
and still desire to
Joyously
pursue Joy,
as even the arrow
pursues the intention
one cannot willfully
eschue
pleasure before it is sated.
Only then can you step aside
of your desires.
It is only then
that we proclaim
our noblest of intentions
nonetheless
inspired by an altogether otherwise
sort of fire
now alight in our chests
which once smoldered
in our nether-most regions.

I like also to feel
the rumble in my stomach
as hunger
overwhelms
all other desires
or intentions,
and I become the Hunter
and the Hunted
by choice of will, or passion,
or instinct
and strength.
I choose to live.
I choose to love…
not easy fairy-tale
puppy-love
as fragile
as a wood-nymph’s wing,
No…
this is tough and leather-clad
Love
astride
our engines of pleasure
sparked by impulse,
horsepower fueled by desire
compelled by instinct
injecting lust
supercharged with anticipation
undaunted by fear.
Poised and ready
for a
high-speed run
along the beach at night,
every lamp on high beam
penetrating the darkness
and the smell of Ocean in our hair.

As long as I still
enjoy the twenty-story
elevator shaft drop
just as much as
that accelerating ascent
that always preceedes it,
I’ll surf the waves
as best I can.
Until then…
until serenity
surplants enthusiasm,
…perhaps
some other time,
perhaps then….
when I no longer
enjoy being hungry.

As five hundred
lifetimes
come and go
in the batting of an eyelash,
we’ll meet again,
and if we don’t turn out
to be just as ignorant
and foolish
as we are now
it will be a miracle
to be celebrated
Here and Now
just as if we already had.
Let’s face it…
we both desearve it
just by wanting it
enough to pay the price.
Bound by Desire
a prisonser of Passion,
Every Hungry Woman
dreams
of the whipping-post.
Every Slave
loves
the collar.
Tomorrow’s Bodhisattva,
बोधिसत्त्व
is
Today’s
Post-Neo Dharma-Bum.

Namasté
नमस्ते

Chazz Vincent
05/30/2015

4 Responses to “I still get Hungry…”

  1. This really speaks to me — mmmm.

    • good…when it speaks…what do you hear?
      I hope it is soothing and provocative as well as encouraging and seductive.
      Chazz

      • What struck me at first, Chazz, was this:

        ““How much Drama / will this Dharma cost? / “How much must we pay to play?” — it’s a question I’m struggling with right now. And while the poem unfolds in measures that are provocative — it *is* quite encouraging too. It stuck with me for quite some time. 🙂

      • This is a very valuable lesson I’ve learned from Zen…to understand that we should never forget that we pay for our desires in suffering. That does not mean we must give up those desires, It is a constant choice we keep having to make. I find it encouraging that you should resonate to those notes.
        Each time one of us responds to another sympathetically like this we feel and respond in ways that leave us feeling less alone and more connected to each other.
        It’s nice to get stuck together, 😉
        Chazz.

Leave a Reply

