Once in a Blue Agave Moon: “…Go Ahead, I’m Listening…”

Chapter Sixteen, Part I

After everyone laughed and shook their heads in amusement at Chiana’s bold and direct remarks Jed began:

“You know, it’s not going to stay like this forever…this new economy/no economy…the find, make, barter or steal paradigm has turned out to be the most ruthless form of economic redistribution that has occurred in over a hundred years.”

“And lately it appears that there is a new natural ascendancy has occurred in small pockets all around the country.”

“Elliott, you and your fellow members of the Fourteenth Colony are one of those examples, but you in particular are a member of an even more elite group…”

Jed suddenly realized that he was speaking directly to Chiana, staring  deeply into her eyes…just about the same time that everyone else, including Chiana and Elliott did.

“And what group would that be, Jed?”  Chiana chuckled slightly and blushed as she shook her head.

“Well, that would be…(Jed dramatically exaggerated each word as he spoke directly to Chiana until he suddenly whirled to face Elliott to say…) “…one of those extremely rare individuals who possess something that either many people want, or a select few want who have the means to make it worth your while to give them what they want.”

“Like what?”

“Well, one of your distilled spirits in particular.”

“Which one?”

“Your tequila.”

“Really?”

“Yeah, really…and by the way…what do you call it?”

“Tequila.”

“No, really; what do you call it?”

“You mean like a brand-name?”

“Yeah…I mean, it sounds like you have nick-names for all your other hootch…like ‘Old Brown Stuff’, ‘Tropic Thunder,’ ‘Tangerine Dream,’  ‘John Barleycorn’…”

“Well, I never sold any of it before…back when I was just craft distilling, and now all I do is barter it if anybody asks for it or I can’t find anything else to trade for something I want.”

“Well you traded some it to someone who gave it a name.”

“Are you serious? What name?”

“Blue Agave Moon…great fuckin’ name!”

“No shit…”

“You know…even though I never liked to speak about it directly to anyone, that is what I have called it, but only maybe once or twice in passing to a guy who got me enough sheet copper to make two fifty-gallon alembic still pots. I just made the name up out of nowhere, based on the word-play  between Once in a Blue Moon, Blue Agave, and ‘Moon’ for Moonshine.”

“I had to give him thirty gallons of barrel-proof, which is one hundred and sixty proof…the equivalent of sixty gallons of eighty-proof tequila. Biggest trade I ever did…took months to make that much from three seven-gallon carboys of fermented wash at a time, but I really needed the copper, and everyone said he was my ‘go-to’ guy.  (Elliott)

“Well guess what?…that guy used to be my mentor. I helped him out of a couple of nasty…uh…situations, and when I saw what he was doing and how he was doing it, I decided to convince him that he needed me around all the time, and in the process we became friends and he not only decided to take me under his wing and teach me the business, but he also still believes to this day that it was his idea in the first place.”

“You were pretty cagey about covering up your tracks after he got you the copper. He had hoped to put you on his payroll to make lots of Blue Agave Moon for him.”

“It wasn’t until about a week ago that I realized who it was he had sent me out to find…not all at once, like some kind of mission, but any time I went  anywhere to get anything, he would remind me to keep an eye out for ‘that guy who made that Blue Agave Moon’.”  (Jed)

 “Hey, you know that it’s a blue moon tomorrow night?” (Elliott)

“Really?”

“And it’s also a blood moon…and Samhain…”

“So what does that mean?”

“…Don’t have a clue, but Chiana does…she says it’s big Mojo.”

 

Chazz Vincent

04/22/2017

 

Leave a Reply

