On Letting Go; Part One

On Letting Go

Part One

(Possessions)

Attachments occur when we try to possess anything that is not really ours, and when we do, we become possessed by this obsession.

As a student of Zen and the Tao I was quick to recognize how this applied to objects, money or other material items as well as by our desires.

I also came to realize that desire is suffering. I thought that by choosing to free myself of the addictions of desire, I would find happiness.

I followed the full cycle of Zen. Form is Form, Emptiness is Emptiness. Form is Emptiness, Emptiness is Form. No Form, no Emptiness. Magic and Madness: a stone girl dances to the sound of a guitar with no strings as birds of fire fly across a liquid sky. And finally, once again, Form is Form and Emptiness is Emptiness.

I recognized the impermanence of everything, and saw that all is meaningless folly.

I do not pretend to be a very good Buddhist. I am not.

I realized that without desire, there is no illusion of purpose.

Somewhere in the midst of the emptiness I realized that we cannot know what it is to be human or even alive without joyfully participating in the cycle of desire and suffering.

It is really a matter of making better choices about our desires, and accepting the inevitable suffering with loving kindness, grace and compassion, including for ourselves.

There are other aspects of letting go, like not holding on to old personal possessions that you know you will no longer use or letting go of items related to particular activities or hobbies like scuba diving, playing in a band, amateur radio station operation, surfing, deep sea fishing, or hunting if you are no longer doing them.

Just because they once gave you pleasure, doesn’t mean you have to drag them around with you for the rest of your life. The problem is that we don’t want to face the fact that we may be unlikely to engage in that particular activity again, yet we either miss the activity or the time in our life when it was a regular part of our activities of daily living, so we try to hold on to it.

Collections of collectable items that we believe will have increased value in the future are similar.

Just wait until you need money, and try to sell them. There are people who make their entire living by low-balling motivated sellers (like yourself) only to sell at a ridiculous mark-up to a motivated buyer with more money than brains and all the room in the world to store it.

If you live a a very large house and never have to move, you may never have to come to grips with just how much your possessions possess you.

It is reputed that at the exact moment of death, we become twenty-one grams lighter than we were when we were still alive. The Egyptians believed that after you died, Anubus, the jackal-headed god of the afterlife would weigh the heart of the deceased.

If it weighed less than the Shu feather of Truth and Justice from the headdress of Ma’at, you were presented to Osiris to join him in the afterlife. If it weighed more than the feather, it meant that your soul was burdened and made heavy with evil deeds; if so your heart would be devoured by Ammut, and you would be condemned to oblivion for eternity.

In spite of all of our sophistication and scientific knowledge, we have no more explanation of how or why the life force within us weighs twenty-one grams than how the existence of Dark Matter and Dark Energy serves as the missing factor in the disparities between General Relativity, Special Relativity, and Quantum Mechanics.

Escape velocity is the speed necessary for an object to overcome gravity so as to either free-fall in orbit or leave the clutches of Earth completely behind.

We need to let go; to be as unburdened as possible of negative emotions, superstitions, old habits, fear, guilt, possessions and addictions if we are ever able to hope to know Life completely and authentically.

Let go and lighten up.

Namasté

नमस्ते

Chazz Vincent

05/02/2015

 

4 Responses to “On Letting Go; Part One”

  1. I’m babbling and skipping around here.
    ” Let go and lighten up.” That is a journey in itself right? Buddhist, or Hoarder Catholic. What is the point to being anything? Let go of religion ad what do you have. Let go of desire and what do you have? Let go of thought and grab a nice chair facing the sunset and pray. Nothing about living makes any critical sense to me today. I had a 3 hour conversation about this sort of thought process earlier today in relation to religion. Everyone makes their own decisions – sort of. All I know is that I have to live as truly to what feels authentically loving, while allowing the possibility to exist that I can and do have blindspots for what works for for others and that includes any children of my own. Living your truth can take perseverance and tenacity because sometimes it’s damn difficult to even know what your “truth” is, especially when it’s growing and changing… and my thoughts can change because of experiences and perspectives over time as I age. Thoughts and questions of this type are always tossing about in my head.

    As far as my post, physical connection can be a flight into another plane of existence. A sensual exchange of physical thoughts. It’s real and it can be an expanding and unburdening experience that holds a mystical sense of power and joy. Sex can also be a a horrible reminder of the lack of connection. A lingering desire for more sensuality, abandonment of all responsibilities but those of pleasure for myself and/or a man I can relate to in that way is something I don’t want to let go of.

    I do believe in the reality of our impermanence. It’s what spurs me to make decisions of change because it comes with secret time limits that I have no clue of. I’m also lame at times and I can procrastinate when changing seems like a greater pain than staying the same. This makes me live in the moment, when I’m aware. I fantasize of living a complete hedonistic life because of impermanence but I’m not that advanced in being that free of mind because of emotional responsibilities.

    • The eternally questioning mind…is a beautiful thing. Good luck.
      XO,
      Chazz

    • I have come to a place in my life where I believe there is no more time for foolishly accepting or believing in dogma that is based on fear of acceptance of our mortality.
      I try to live as hedonistically as is practical. Love seems to balance the equation. This past year I’ve had to learn how to let go of my relationship with someone that was not meant to be. It doesn’t matter why. The point was that I know I can love someone selflessly and accept the loss of her company and still not forget how I felt. No one can take that away from me, not even her. We both know and accept that now. We both had to learn emotional responsibility…and how to love selflessly. I am grateful for that opportunity. It has given me more hope and love than I knew existed, If there is such a thing, I would call it a sweet pain.
      I once heard that the word nostalgia means the pain of remembering.
      I can live today fearlessly without a God or heaven. It is enough just to be alive.
      XO,
      Chazz

      • That sounds like a sublime type of a wonderful peace of acceptance. Nothing lasts forever and if you have to let go, having that outlook,,,sort of puts it in a forever category in some way. It can be done.

Leave a Reply

